Skip to content

How to Revoke Access to a Message in Outlook

Last updated

Using the XQ Outlook Enterprise add-in, you can revoke access to previously sent messages. Revoking a message makes it unrecoverable for you and all recipients.

  1. Open your Sent Mail folder and select the email you would like to revoke access to. On the email message, click on the three dots icon and select XQ Outlook Enterprise > Read with XQ.

Outlook Sent Items: open the message, then More actions, XQ Outlook Enterprise, Read with XQ

  1. On the The XQ Outlook Enterprise, click on the icon on the bottom right and then on Revoke.

XQ Outlook Enterprise pane: click the revoke icon at the bottom right, then confirm Revoke

  1. The message will no longer be available to anyone. You can verify that the access was revoked because the icon to revoke disappears and there’s this message: “Sorry, this message can no longer be decrypted”.

XQ pane after revoking: Sorry, this message can no longer be decrypted

You can also revoke access from the Dashboard to all or some recipients.